TDP scores in the Valmiki belt

Special Correspondent

KURNOOL: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) appears to have gained to some extent by fielding a Valmiki community person from Kurnool Parliament. Mr. B.T. Naidu lost to Kotla Suryprakasa Reddy by a margin of 74,000 votes but the all the four seats won by TDP are located in Valmiki belt especially in Kurnool Parliament.

The TDP appears to have targeted Valmiki voters even at the cost of losing Parliament seat. Even though the party had better candidates, it preferred a Valmiki to gain in Assembly segments. As anticipated, the party won Adoni, Mantralayam, Pathikonda and Dhone, all in Valmiki dominated area. Even B.T. Naidu, who contested the election first time without much resources polled considerable number of votes.

The voters of Kuruba community, another important BC community in the district, were divided between the Congress and TDP this time. At some places like Dhone, Pathikonda and a few other places, Kurubas supported TDP while they extended the support to the Congress at Aluru and other places. The TDP could not accommodate the community in this election.

Meanwhile, the defeat of Byreddy Rajasekhar Reddy, TDP district president, from Panyam is widely debated as the party pinned great hopes on him. From the begginning of the campaign, Mr. Rajasekhar Reddy appeared to have had an edge over his Congress rival Katasani Rambhupal Reddy.

But towards the end, Mr. Rambhupal Reddy picked up and scored a surprise victory.

Recommended for you