TDP improves its strength in Krishna district

Special Correspondent

Besides retaining Nandigama and Gudivada, it wrests six new seats from Congress

Congress bags all newly-carved constituencies and retains Machilipatnam and Tiruvuru

Praja Rajyam Party has to be content with two seats it has won in the city

VIJAYAWADA: The return to power in the State might have gladdened the hearts of Congress activists in Krishna district, but the party’s not-so-good showing has certainly dampened their enthusiasm.

The Telugu Desam Party vastly improved over its 2004 tally of just two seats to win eight in all, which are both in the prosperous delta area of east Krishna and the upland areas of west Krishna, leaving only six for the Congress and two to the Praja Rajyam.

The Left parties’ alliance with the TDP did not yield the desired result, as the candidates of the CPI and the CPI (M) lost in the two constituencies they contested.

In east Krishna, the TDP won both Nuzvid and Kaikaluru that form part of Eluru Lok Sabha constituency and which were won by the Congress in 2004, besides Avanigadda, Gudivada and Gannavaram that are a part of Machilipatnam LS constituency. Making inroads into west Krishna, the party won Jaggayyapeta, Nandigama and Mylavaram. This means that the party retained its existing seats of Nandigama and Gudivada and won six new seats, all at the cost of the Congress. The Congress retained Machilipatnam in east Krishna and Tiruvuru in west Krishna, which it won in 2004, and bagged all the four constituencies formed as a result of delimitation, i.e. Pedana, Penamaluru, Pamarru and Vijayawada Central.

The Praja Rajyam failed to make any dent into the rural parts of the district, especially in east Krishna region, where Chiranjeevi’s roadshows have been a resounding success, and it had to be content with both the seats only in the city.

Unexpected blow

Most of the constituencies saw intense fights between the victors and their nearest rivals till the end, with Avanigadda, where Minister Mandali Buddha Prasad was trounced, turning out to be the most unexpected and keenly fought constituency.

Mr. Buddha Prasad maintained a narrow yet comfortable lead till the last couple of rounds, but the counting of votes polled in Nagayalanka mandal in the last two rounds apparently tilted the scales in favour of TDP candidate Ambati Brahmanaiah, who finally emerged winner by a margin of 417 votes. The highest margin in the district was recorded in Gudivada by Kodali Srivenkateswara Rao (Nani) of the TDP, who defeated Minister Pinnamaneni Venkateswara Rao by a margin of 17,630, while the lowest was 151 secured in Penamaluru by K.P. Saradhi of the Congress over Chalasani Venkateswara Rao of the TDP. Winning margins of other successful candidates are as follows: D.Y. Das (Pamarru) – 6,940; Perni Venkataramaiah (Machilipatnam) – 11,266; Jogi Ramesh Goud (Pedana) – 1,195; Jayamangalam Venkataramana (Kaikaluru) – 974; Chinnam Ramakotaiah (Nuzvid) – 5,143; Devineni Umamaheswara Rao (Mylavaram) – 5,834; Dirisam Padmajyothi (Tiruvuru) – 265; Tangirala Prabhakar Rao (Nandigama) – 5,200; Sriram Rajagopal (Jaggayyapeta) – 9,638; and Dasari Balavardhana Rao (Gannavaram) – 15,295.

Recommended for you