TD finishes third, BJP fourth in Vizag Lok Sabha

Staff Reporter

VISAKHAPATNAM: In keenly fought Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency, Congress candidate and Union Minister D. Purandeswari defeated Praja Rajyam Party candidate Palla Srinivasa Rao by a comfortable margin of 66,686.

Interestingly, the Maha Kutaumi candidate and Telugu Desam strongman M.V.V.S. Murthy finished third followed by BJP’s D.V. Subba Rao.

The votes polled by the four main candidates as follows: Congress 3,68,812, PRP 3,02,126, TD 2,23,117 and BJP 30,336.

The voting for various segments in the parliamentary constituency, which began in the morning, progressed very slowly due to confusion in tabulation of round-wise votes from various segments.

Till late evening, the particulars from S.Kota segment were not available.

The PRP, which fielded Mr. Rao, a political novice, did exceedingly well by getting more votes than Congress in Bhimili and Gajuwaka, where its candidates emerged victorious in Assembly elections.

While Congress polled 51,510 in Bhimili, PRP could get 55,178, similarly, in Gajuwaka, Congress got 48,049 as against PRP’s 61,659.

In the city barring Visakha East, where Congress polled 49,428 as against PRP’s 47,101, in all other segments Ms. Purandeswari was way ahead of Mr. Srinivasa Rao. In South, she secured a majority of 10,445.

Recommended for you