Resounding win for Congress in Kadapa

Political entry: Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy receiving the letter of election from Returning Officer of Kadapa LS constituency Shashi Bhushan Kumar in Kadapa on Saturday.

Political entry: Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy receiving the letter of election from Returning Officer of Kadapa LS constituency Shashi Bhushan Kumar in Kadapa on Saturday.  

Special Correspondent

Jagan makes debut; Mallela Linga Reddy lone Telugu Desam Party winner in the district

KADAPA: The ruling Congress has registered a resounding victory in Kadapa district by retaining both Kadapa and Rajampet Parliamentary constituencies and winning nine of the 10 Assembly constituencies.

The Congress has won eight Assembly segments and the Telugu Desam Party two segments in the 2004 elections. The ruling party improved its tally by winning one seat more. The lone winner of the TDP was Mallela Linga Reddy in Proddatur Assembly segment, by trouncing five-time Congress MLA Nandyala Varadarajulu Reddy. Praja Rajyam failed to open its account in the district.

Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy’s son Yeduguri Sandinti Jaganmohan Reddy, who polled 5,38,038 votes made his debut in Parliament by winning from Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency with a huge margin of 1,75,751 votes, over his nearest rival of TDP Palem Srikanth Reddy who got 3,62,280 votes and Shaik Khaleel Basha of PR who got 63,261 votes.

Sitting Congress MP Annaiahgari Sai Prathap who secured 4,17,037 votes retained Rajampet Lok Sabha seat for the sixth term by a margin of 1,09 lakhs defeating R. Ramesh Kumar Reddy of TDP who secured 3,07,967 votes and D.A. Srinivas of Praja Rajyam who got 1,76,271 votes.

The Congress retained Kadapa, Kamalapuram, Mydukur, Jammalamadugu, Pulivendula, Badvel (SC), Kodur (SC) and Rajampet Assembly segments and wrested the Rayachoti segment from the TDP. The TDP wrested Proddatur seat from the Congress.

Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy and Mydukur MLA Duggireddy Lakshmireddy Ravindra Reddy were re-elected for the sixth term, Kadapa MLA Mohammed Ahmedullah, Jammalamadugu MLA Chadipiralla Adinarayana Reddy, Kamalapuram MLA Gandluri Veerasiva Reddy were re-elected for the second term. Prominent losers were Nandyala Varadarajulu Reddy in Proddatur and Sugavasi Palakondarayudu in Rayachoti.

Debutantes in Kadapa district were Pattupogula Mary Kamalamma from Badvel (SC), Gadikota Srikanth Reddy from Rayachoti, Akepati Amarnath Reddy from Rajampet and Koramutla Srinivasulu from Kodur(SC), both of Congress and Mallela Linga Reddy of TDP from Proddatur. Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who polled 1,03,116 votes, continued his unbeaten track record since 1978 by retaining Pulivendula segment with a comfortable margin of 68,312 votes over his nearest TDP candidate S.V. Satish Kumar Reddy, who got 34,804 votes. Congress’ sitting MLA Mohd. Ahmedullah, who secured 61,613 votes, retained Kadapa Assembly segment with a margin of 7,350 over TDP’s Kandula Sivananda Reddy, who polled 54,263 votes

Sitting Mydukur legislator D.L. Ravindra Reddy, who secured 62,377 votes, won Mydukur segment with a margin of 4,361 votes over TDP’s Settipalli Raghurami Reddy, who polled 58,016 votes. Former principal turned politician P.M. Kamalamma polled 77,884 votes and won with a margin of 36,304 votes by defeating TDP’s Lakkineni Chennaiah who secured 41,580 votes.

Congress’ A. Amarnath Reddy, who got 605397 votes won Rajampet Assembly seat by a margin of 12,342 votes over TDP’s K. Madanmohan Reddy who secured 48,055 votes and Gunipati Ramaiah of Praja Rajyam who got 21,499 votes. Gadikota Srikanth Reddy of Congress, who polled 71,901 votes, won Rayachoti segment by a margin of 14,832 votes against TDP sittins MLA S. Palakondarayudu, who got 57,069 votes.

Koramutla Srinivasulu of Congress who secured 51,747 votes won Kodur (SC) segment with a margin of 12.388 votes over TDP’s P.M. Ajay Babu of TDP who got 39,359 votes and S. Saraswathi of Praja Rajyam who secured 22,122 votes. M. Linga Reddy of Telugu Desam Party who got 73,023 votes won Proddatur segment with a margin of 16,156 votes defeating sitting Congress MLA N. Varadarajulu Reddy who got 56,867 votes and Praja Rajyam’s M. Muralidhar who got 22,784 votes. Congress legislator C. Adinarayana Reddy, who polled 84,416 votes, was re-elected with a margin of 7,384 votes over TDP’s P. Ramasubba Reddy who polled 77,032 votes and PR’s Nagendra Yadav who got 44,060 votes. legislator G. Veerasiva Reddy of the Congress, who got 65,386 votes, won from Kamalapuram segment by margin of 4,162 votes over TDP’s P. Narasimha Reddy (41,223 votes) and PR’s O. Subba Reddy (33,066 votes).

Recommended for you