Raja-Lakshmi award presented

Special Correspondent

VISAKHAPATNAM: The Sri Raja-Lakshmi Foundation Award and the Dr. K.V. Rao and Dr. Jyothi Rao award were presented to the Dr. Ch. Gnaneshwar Memorial Endowment Fund at a function held here on Monday evening.

Sri Sivananda Murty of Ananda Ashramam, Bheemunipatnam handed over the award to Dr. S.V. Adinarayana, Dr. E. Peda Veerraju and Dr. M.S. Raju of the Dr. Gnaneswhar Endowment Fund. The awards consisted of a cheque for Rs. 1 lakh.

The day also marked the 80th birthday of Ramanaiah Raja, who instituted the Sri Raja-Lakshmi Foundation. Speakers appreciated Mr. Raja for helping the noted personalities and organisations through this award.

Former Chairman of the AP State Finance Corporation J. Rambabu was present. Sri Sivananda Murty said air, water and money were not static and one must spare a part of the last mentioned to help others. On behalf of Mr. Ramanaiah Raja, Mr. Sivananda Murthy felicitated about 20 noted persons, including former Mayor D.V. Subba Rao, writer Gollapudi Maruti Rao, Sahitya Akademi awardee Y. Lakshmi Prasad and former Rector of Andhra University A. Prasanna Kumar.

Recommended for you