Poster episode: panel report today

Staff Reporter

KHAMMAM: The three-member committee constituted by the PCC to probe the poster-tearing episode in the District Congress Committee office will submit its report on Sunday.

The committee, comprising N. Suryanarayana, Tripurana Venkata Ratnam and Tippeswamy, recorded the statements of all party leaders who were witness to the unruly scenes.

In all, some 47 persons gave their individual account of the incident. Government Chief Whip Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Khammam District Congress president Vanama Venkateswar Rao and Zilla Parishad chairperson G. Vijayalakshmi were among the leaders who interacted with the team members on the occasion.

The Congress had already suspended four persons allegedly involved in tearing the flex poster of AICC president Sonia Gandhi in the DCC office as part of their protest against the stand taken by the party leadership on making Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy as chief minister.

Loyalists of Renuka Chowdhury attributed the incidents to members of the Jagan Yuva Sena. But her rival groups claimed that those involved in the episode were followers of Ms. Chowdhury.

Youth Congress Khammam town president Md. Mustafa was arrested in connection with episode. But he denied his role in the episode.

Mr. Tippeswamy said that all the three members of the panel had their own observations. The report would be compiled after returning to Hyderabad.