Juggernaut rolls on in LS polls too

HYDERABAD: The Congress not only returned to power in the State but almost swept the Parliamentary polls by bagging 33 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the State and thereby contributed a huge number to the ruling party’s kitty at the national level.

Interestingly, the party improved upon its performance this time even though it contested on its own. It had bagged 29 seats in 2004 elections in alliance with Telangana Rashtra Samithi and the Left Parties. Apparently, the cine glamour of Praja Rajyam or TDP’s populist schemes like cash transfer for the poor had failed to make any dent in the ruling party’s performance. The Congress bagged 12 of the 17 seats in Telangana, 15 out of another 17 in Coastal Andhra and 6 of eight in Rayalaseema.

Prominent among Congress winners are Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy’s son, Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy, Union Ministers S. Jaipal Reddy (Chevella), Pallam Raju (Kakinada) and D. Purandeswari (Visakhapatnam). The others include Killi Krupa Rani (Srikakulam), Madhu Yashki Goud (Nizamabad), Ponnam Prabhakar ( Karimnagar), Anjan Kumar Yadav ( Secunderabad) Manda Jagannadam ( Nagarkurnool-SC), Gutha Sukendar Reddy (Nalgonda), Botsa Jhansi (Vizianagaram), Undavalli Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry), Kanumuri Bapiraju (Narsapuram), Kavuri Sambasiva Rao (Eluru), Lagadapati Rajagopal (Vijayawada) and Panabaka Lakshmi (Bapatla-SC).

Mr. Madhu Yashki retained the Nizamabad seat by a margin of 59,962 votes defeating his nearest TRS rival, while Gutha Sukender Reddy trounced CPI deputy general secretary S. Sudhakar Reddy by 1,52,982 votes to bag Nalgonda seat. The TDP, on the other hand, managed to marginally improve its tally despite forging ‘Grand Alliance’ with the Left and TRS. It bagged only six of the 29 LS seats it had contested. The party’s Parliamentary leader in the erstwhile Lok Sabha, K.Yerran Naidu was among the prominent losers. The Left parties which contested four seats failed to open their account. The TRS which fielded candidates in nine Lok Sabha constituencies won in two of them with its president K. Chandrasekhar Rao wresting the Mahbubnagar seat from Congress and film actress Vijayashanti retaining Medak. In the last elections it had bagged Warangal, Hanamkonda, Karimnagar, Medak and Adilabad seats.

The PR which fielded its nominees in 40 seats, including party general secretary Allu Aravind and film actor, U.V. Krishnam Raju, drew a total blank. Similar was the fate of BJP which had put up candidates in 41 constituencies.

Recommended for you