Jaipal Reddy scrapes through in Chevella

HYDERABAD: Union Minister for Urban Development S. Jaipal Reddy won the newly-created Chevella constituency with a narrow margin of 18,472 votes defeating his nearest rival A.P. Jitender Reddy of Telugu Desam. He polled 4,20,483 votes while his nearest opponent polled 4,02,011 votes. Baddam Bal Reddy of the BJP polled 1,12,417 votes finishing in the third place.

The 19,983 votes polled by Kasani Gnaneshwar of Mana Party, who has apparently joined the fray to cut into the Telugu Desam votes, helped Mr. Jaipal Reddy to get the winning lead. Mr. Gnaneshwar, who has considerable following in Ranga Reddy district has good relations with Mr. Jaipal Reddy since his Congress days.

TDP wins

Though the initial rounds scared him with the opponent taking a lead, Mr. Reddy came back with a good majority in some of the constituencies bordering the city while Mr. Jitender Reddy did well in the rural constituencies taking lead in Parigi, Tandur and Chevella Assembly constituencies that were eventually won by the TDP candidates.

The Union Minister got lead in Maheshwaram, Rajendranagar, Serilingampally and Vikarabad constituencies. Interestingly, Rajendranagar Assembly seat was won by the TDP candidate indicating that there was heavy cross-voting in that segment in favour of Mr. Jaipal Reddy. The Praja Rajyam (PR) candidate B. Raghuveer Reddy polled 22,737 votes in Serilingampally and 35,582 votes totally.

This is the second win for Mr. Jaipal Reddy against Mr. Jitender Reddy. Earlier, they contested in 1998 from Mahabubnagar.

Recommended for you