Hyderabad rejects Grand Alliance candidates

Special Correspondent

Electorate not swayed by GA’s Telangana promise

AIMIM candidates won all their seven Assembly segments

HYDERABAD: Voters in the State capital have summarily rejected the Grand Alliance comprising Telugu Desam, Telangana Rashtra Samiti and the Left parties by not sending any of their representatives to the State Assembly. The only saving grace for the Telugu Desam, the main Opposition party, is that it managed to get five seats in the Ranga Reddy district.

That the electorate did no get swayed over the promise of a separate Telangana state by the Grand Alliance was evident when the TRS candidates in five segments of Hyderabad district and four in Ranga Reddy district were trounced totally. The CPI and CPI (M) which contested one seat each in Hyderabad district too did not get a favourable mandate.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) candidates won all the seven Assembly segments they contested in Hyderabad, while losing the electoral battle in Rajendranagar seat in Rangareddy. The Praja Rajyam which contested 14 seats in Hyderabad and 12 in Ranga Reddy failed to open its account and so did Lok Satta, which contested 12 seats in Hyderabad. Of the 14 seats contested in Ranga Reddy, the LS managed to get only Kukatpally, where its president Jayaprakash Narayan was in the fray.

Interestingly, the Telugu Desam candidates in Hyderabad and Secunderabad Parliament constituencies too were rejected with Hyderabad re-electing Asaduddin Owaisi, president of the AIMIM, an ‘unofficial’ ally of the Congress and Secunderabad returning the Congress nominee Anjan Kumar Yadav. Telugu Desam’s Zahed Ali Khan stood second in Hyderabad constituency, while BJP’s Bandaru Dattatreya was no match to Congress.

Recommended for you