Golden Nandi to DD telefilm

Special Correspondent

‘Gantala Bandi', produced by M. Sai Prasad, wins Silver Nandi

HYDERABAD: ‘Vishnu Sharma English Chaduvu', made by the Doordarshan Kendra, bagged the Golden Nandi for the Best Telefilm with a cash prize of Rs.30,000 in the AP State Nandi TV Film Awards-2008.

‘Gantala Bandi', produced by Manchiraju Sai Prasad, won the Silver Nandi with cash prize of Rs.15,000. Both get commendation certificates for the producers and the directors.

Durga Nageswara Rao, chairman of the awards committee, and C. Parthasarathi, Managing Director of the Corporation and member-convener, announced the names of award-winners here on Tuesday, after presenting the list to Chief Minister K. Rosaiah.

They told a press conference that the awards, instituted by the AP State Film TV and Theatre Development Corporation Ltd. were likely to be presented in April.

Mr. Rao said a feature of the TV film awards-2008 was that the cash prizes has been doubled. The Nandi Film Awards, already announced, would be presented on March 16.

Award winners

Following are among the award winners (Golden Nandi): Best Feature - ‘Telugu Velugu', Mega serial ‘Mathrusri Tharigonda Vengamamba', Daily serials ‘Chinnari', Children's films - none eligible, Documentary films ‘Mahakavi Sree Sree', TV socially relevant films -‘Kachra' and Educational film ‘Veda Ganitham'.

P. Udaya Bhaskar, who directed ‘Mathrusri Tharigonda Vegamambda', was adjudged the best director in the individual awards for artistes and technicians. He gets Silver Nandi with a cash prize of Rs,15,000.

The other winners include Meena (best leading actress, ‘Vegamambda'), Manoj (best supporting actor, ‘Radha Madhu'), Lahari (best supporting actress, ‘Radha Madhu' ), Chalapathi Raju (best comedian actor, ‘Runananda Lahari'), Madhu Mani (best comedian actress, ‘Yuva'), Ranganadh (best villain, ‘Shruthi'), Abhishek Rama (best child actor,‘Kachra'), Gayathri (best child actress, ‘Gantala Bandi').

Meer Hussain (best first film of a director, ‘Chi Lax. Sow. Sravanthi'), P. Chandra Sekhar Azad (best screenplay writer, ‘Radha Madhu'), Akella Suryanarayana (best story writer, ‘Neelo Sagam'), C.S. Rao (best dialogue writer,‘Vishnu Sharma English Chaduvu') and Ananth Sriram (best lyric writer, ‘Toorpu Velle Railu', song ‘Monna Eduru Choosaa').

Recommended for you