Congress show in Nalgonda

Staff Reporter

NALGONDA: The Congress swept the general elections in the district hitherto considered a traditional bastion of the Left parties by winning seven of the total 12 Assembly segments and two Parliament seats.

GA bags five

The Grand Alliance partners - TDP and the Left parties managed to win only five Assembly seats together.

The TDP won three seats while the CPI and the CPI (M) bagged one each.

The Congress wrested Nakrekal and Devarakonda Assembly segments from the Left and captured the Alair segment which was earlier represented by the TRS in the last Assembly.

Improves tally

Besides improving its tally from six Assembly seats in the previous election to seven now, the Congress bagged both Nalgonda and Bhongir Parliament seats with a splendid margin.

The TRS, the main ally of the GA, which fielded its candidates from Alair, Suryapet and Huzurnagar drew a blank.

The PR, BJP and the Lok Satta which contested the elections independently also failed to open their account. Congress candidates emerged victorious from Nagarjunasagar, Huzurnagar, Suryapet, Nalgonda, Nakrekal, Devarakonda (ST), and Alair Assembly segments.

The TDP bagged Bhongir, Tungaturthy and Kodad Assembly segments. The CPI (M) and the CPI retained Miryalaguda and Munugode seats respectively.

Cadre rejuvenated

Meanwhile, the impressive electoral performance by the Congress in the district has rejuvenated the rank and file of the party.

Recommended for you