Congress, TDP retain strength in Anantapur

Staff Reporter

ANANTAPUR: The results of Assembly and Lok Sabha elections announced in the district on Saturday was a moral blow to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) though it retained its tally of six Assembly seats it had won in 2004 elections and gained one Parliamentary seat compared to the previous election. The ruling Congress also retained its 2004 tally of eight Assembly seats.

Ministers J.C. Diwakar Reddy and N. Raghuveera Reddy, who faced stiff resistance from their TDP rivals, came out triumphant with Praja Rajyam candidates (both former TDP leaders) proving a nemesis to the TDP candidates.

While all the eight Congress winners romped home with moderate majority, three of the six TDP winners could manage to scrape through. The only fact hurting the Congress in its victory march was its candidate being relegated to third position in Hindupur, where the TDP candidate defeated an Independent, a Congress rebel.

In the two Lok Sabha constituencies, the Congress was leading in Anantapur and the TDP in Hindupur with a majority of about 25,000 votes.

Victory margins

The Congress winners were J.C. Diwakar Reddy (Tadipatri-6,955 votes majority), N. Raghuveera Reddy (Kalyanadurg-4,388), K. Venkatarami Reddy (Dharmavaram-19,040), K. Ramachandra Reddy (Rayadurg-14,091), B. Gurunatha Reddy (Anantapur Urban-13,089), K. Sudhakar (Madakasira-10,425), K. Madhusudhan Gupta (Guntakal-9,344) and S. Sailajanath (Singanamala-3,238).

Similarly, the TDP winners were K. Venkata Prasad (Kadiri-14,977), B.K. Parthasarathi (Penukonda-14,389), P. Abdul Ghani (Hindupur-8,764), P. Sunitha (Rapthadu-1,726), P. Raghunatha Reddy (Puttaparthi-1,021) and P. Keshav (Uravakonda-329).

The TDP was expected to fare much better than the show put up by it. The slender majority to three of its candidates has left the party leadership gasping. The majority of below 2,000 votes to P. Sunitha shocked the party as she was expected to win with a comfortable majority. The party could win five seats in Hindupur Parliamentary constituency and one in Anantapur. The Congress maintained lead in Anantapur Urban, Dharmavaram, Rayadurg, Tadipatri, Guntakal and Madakasira constituencies and the TDP in Hindupur, Kadiri and Penukonda constituencies continuously from the beginning of the counting. It was a sea-saw battle for the two parties in Puttaparthi, Uravakonda, Rapthadu, Kalyanadurg and Singanamala constituencies.

Recommended for you