CLP body yet to be constituted

Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: The ruling party has not been able to constitute the executive body of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) for close to a year.

Despite holding meetings under the leadership of Chief Minister K. Rosaiah, a full-fledged body of the members comprising 156 MLAs and 53 MLCS still eludes the CLP. The executive comprises a leader, four deputy leaders and secretaries each, a treasurer and at least 15 executive committee members.

The executive was constituted last in 2004 by Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy soon after he came to power. “We did not understand, why YSR did not re-constitute the panel after the 2009 elections,” an MLA wondered. Some leaders attributed the delay to the campaign to anoint Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy as the Chief Minister last year as one reason. Another reason was the agitation for separate Telangana.