A.P. Speaker defends verdict

Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker K. R. Suresh Reddy has defended his much-criticised verdict disqualifying three rebel TRS MLAs and accepting the resignations of six others since it was “one of a kind in the country” of debarring defectors for reasons other than defying the party whip.

The threesome were debarred for “voluntarily giving up membership of the political party” under the provision 2 (1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution relating to disqualification on the grounds of defection. Now, M. Satyanarayana Reddy, T. Jayaprakash Reddy and S. Bapu Rao attracted disqualification for signing the nomination papers of an independent, Kasani Gyaneswar, in the Council election.

Recommended for you