A memorable debut

HYDERABAD: The general elections this time have also thrown up several interesting outcome with a number of family members of seasoned politicians making it to the Assembly and the Parliament as well.

Most known face in the State politics, Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy and his son Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy won the Pulivendula Assembly and Kadapa Lok Sabha seat. It was a memorable debut for Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy from Kadapa as his margin of victory touched 1.90 lakh votes.

Telangana Rashtra Samiti president K. Chandrasekhara Rao and his son K.Tarakaratna Rao won the Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha and Sircilla Assembly seats.

The long list of politicians and their family entering the two Houses begins with Housing Minister Botcha Satyanarayana, who not only ensured victory of his three relatives to the Assembly but also his wife to the Parliament. The Minister retained the Cheepurpalli Assembly seat while his wife Botcha Jhansi triumphed from Vizianagaram Lok Sabha constituency.

To complete the domination in Vizianagaram district politics, the Minister’s brother Botcha Narsaiah won from Gajapatinagaram while another close relative wrested the Nellimarla seat.

Among the brother duo winning the elections, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy retained the Nalgonda Assembly seat while his brother Komatreddy Rajagapal Reddy made his political debut winning the newly created Bhongir Parlimentary constituency.

Recommended for you