6 ZPTCs, 50 MPTCs finalised for CPI(M) in Krishna district

Staff Reporter

Decision on three other ZPTCs deferred

VIJAYAWADA: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) on Thursday continued their discussions on sharing ZPTCs and MPTCs as part of an understanding for the local body elections. They finalised six ZPTCs and 50 MPTCs from where the CPI (M) would be contesting in the district.

The six ZPTCs to be contested by CPI (M) are Ghantasala, Gannavaram, Koduru, Tiruvuru, Mylavaram and Vatsavai.

They deferred a decision on the specific places the CPI (M) would contest from three other ZPTCs. The CPI (M) was seeking Movva, A. Konduru and Gampalagudem.

TDP district president Ambati Brahmanaiah said that the party observers were holding discussions with local leaders on the issue of identifying strengths and possibilities at the respective ZPTCs and MPTCs. "We are continuing discussions with CPI (M) leaders.

The local leaders will keep me posted about the progress of talks," he added.

CPI (M) district secretary V. Uma Maheswara Rao said that an understanding with the TDP could be reached on specific places for six ZPTCs.

The talks would continue till clarity emerged on the remaining seats. "We have asked for 150 MPTCs. Till now, we could finalise specific places in 50 seats," he added.