283 apply for Congress ticket

NALGONDA, MARCH. 3. As many as 241 aspirants have applied for the Congress ticket to 12 Assembly constituencies in the district, while 42 candidates have submitted their applications for Nalgonda and Miryalaguda Parliamentary seats.

Forty-five persons including Dosapati Gopal, MLA in the just-dissolved Assembly, have sent in their applications for the Suryapet seat. Similarly, 43 persons including the former MLA, Repala Srinivas, are trying their luck for the Miryalaguda Assembly seat.

Announcing this at a press conference at the DCC office here on Wednesday, the PCC secretary, Vinod Kumar and the DCC general secretary, Namoju Linga Chary, said only three persons including the former MLA, K. Jana Reddy, applied for the Chalakurthy seat.

While the DCC president, Vangala Swami Goud, is in the fray for both the parliamentary constituencies, The Sevadal chief and party's candidate in the 1999 elections, Kanukula Janardhan Reddy, and the local Municipal Chairperson, Pullemla Venkatanarayana Goud, are among the 25 aspirants for the Nalgonda seat.

The DCC general secretary, N. Linga Chary, a practicing advocate, is seeking nomination from Nalgonda and Munugode Assembly seats.