Ten more States to come under food security scheme

As many as 10 States are set to implement National Food Security Act (NFSA) from April 1, taking the total number of States covered under the subsidized food scheme to 21.

“From April 1, 10 States, including Gujarat, are going to launch the food security programme and all preparations for the smooth launch have been made,” said Union Food and Civil Supply Minister Ram Vilas Paswan in Ahmedabad on Monday.

The Minister held a review meeting with the officials of the Gujarat government and Food Corporation of India (FCI) on how the subsidized food programme was being launched in the State.

“When I took over as Minister, only 11 States had implemented the programme and in those States also, there were many issues and challenges. We have worked towards sorting out the issues and now more and more States are joining,” Mr. Paswan said.

In the last two years, the Centre and the States have worked for digitization, linking ration cards with Aadhaar, computerization of PDS shops and supply chain network, which are required to implement the act nationally.

“Of the 24.18 crore ration cards in the country, almost 99 per cent have been digitized while 48 per cent have been linked with Aadhaar cards,” the Minister said.