Steven Spielberg to get highest US civilian honour

Presidential Medal for Spielberg

Film-maker Steven Spielberg, singers Barbra Streisand, Gloria Estefan, James Taylor and composer Stephen Sondheim are among the recipients of this year’s Presidential Medal of Freedom, the country’s highest civilian honour.

It will be presented to the awardees at the White House by U.S. President Barack Obama on November 24.

Other recipients include veteran activist Bonnie Carroll, music producer Emilio Estefan, NASA mathematician Katherine G. Johnson, baseball legend Willie Mays, Sen. Barbara Mikulski, conductor Itzhak Perlman, and former EPA administrator William Ruckelshaus, reports — IANS