SC Collegium suggests transfer of six HC judges

May 28, 2022 12:00 am | Updated 05:40 am IST - New Delhi

CJI had emphasised on inclusivity

The Supreme Court Collegium led by Chief Justice of India N.V. Ramana has recommended to the government to transfer or repatriate judges in six different high courts.

Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah has been recommended for transfer from Andhra Pradesh High Court to Patna High Court; Justice Chitta Ranjan Dash from Orissa to Calcutta; Justice Subhasis Talapatra from Tripura to Orissa; Justice Lanusungkum Jamir from Manipur to Gauhati; Justice Dhiraj Singh Thakur from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh High Court to Bombay High Court; and Justice Purushaindra Kumar Kaurav from Madhya Pradesh to Delhi.

The inter-State transfers of high court judges recommended by the Collegium takes further Chief Justice Ramana’s recent stress on inclusivity in judiciary. “The judiciary, as well as every other institution of our democracy, must mirror the social and geographical diversity of the country,” the CJI had said recently.

Last year, the Supreme Court Collegium had transferred judges from across 14 of a total 25 High Courts in the country.

The Collegium recommendations in 2021 had covered the transfers of judges from the High Courts of Allahabad, Bombay, Calcutta, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madras, Orissa, Patna, Punjab and Haryana, Rajasthan and Telangana.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.