Sanjay Mitra to be next Defence Secretary

The Centre on Wednesday named Sanjay Mitra, Secretary Ministry of Transport and Highways as the next Defence Secretary. He will take over once the incumbent G. Mohan Kumar retires on May 24.

In a series of appointments approved on Wednesday, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet appointed Mr. Mitra as Officer on Special Duty in the Ministry of Defence.

Mr. Mitra belongs to the 1982 batch of West Bengal cadre.

Other appointments

The other appointments approved by the ACC include Rakesh Srivastava, Member Secretary of National Commission for Backward Classes as Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development while its present secretary Leena Nair has been appointed as secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Recommended for you