President to honour eminent craftspersons

NEW DELHI Nov. 7. Ten eminent craftspersons from different parts of the country are to be honoured by the President, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, as `shilp gurus' at a function here on November 15. They include the stone sculptor, V. Ganapathi Sthapathi of Tamil Nadu, Kalamkari artiste, Gurappa Chetty of Andhra Pradesh, and wood carving expert, C. Parmeshwar Char of Karnataka.

The others are — Jivya Soma Mashe of Maharashtra (warli painting), Vinayak Saalvi of Gujarat (patola), Kirpal Singh Shekhwat of Rajasthan (ceramics), Sona Bai Rajwar of Chattisgarh (clay relief work), Nawang Tsering of Leh (clay sculpture), Jai Dev Bhagel of Chattisgarh (dhokra) and Jagdish Lal Soni of Rajasthan (thewa).

The function is being organised by the Export Promotion Council for Handicrafts in collaboration with the Development Commissioner (Handicraft) to mark the `Golden Jubilee of Handicrafts Resurgence in India'.

As part of the programme, two monographs on the lifetime achievements of Ganapathi Sthapathi and late Ali Hasan Naqshbandh would also be presented to the President.

Recommended for you