New Space Secretary and ISRO chief

A.S. Kiran Kumar

A.S. Kiran Kumar  

A.S. Kiran Kumar is the new Secretary of the Department of Space as also Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation and the Space Commission.

Currently Director of the Space Application Centre, Ahmedabad, Mr. Kiran Kumar will head the organisation for three years from the date he assumes charge, according to the order issued by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, Department of Personnel & Training under the Ministry of Personnel & Public Grievances. He is being re-employed on contract basis, it said.

Mr. Kumar succeeds K. Radhakrishnan (who retired on December 31, 2014,) as the eighth chief of the prestigious Space dispensation.

In the interim, the government had entrusted DoS as additional charge to Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Department of Earth Sciences.

Recommended for you