New director for VSSC

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM Sept. 21 . The associate director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), B. N. Suresh, has been elevated to the post of director, according to a press release issued by the VSSC here today.

He takes over from G. Madhavan Nair, whose appointment as the chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation and Secretary to the Department of Space, is expected to be announced by the Government shortly.

Another associate director, R. V. Perumal, has been designated as director of projects, VSSC. Dr. Suresh, who joined the VSSC in 1969, began his career in control and guidance of rockets. He had worked with the control systems of SLV-3 and had held the post of deputy director of avionics entity, before becoming associate director.

The Government of India had conferred on him the Padma Shri last year for his contribution to space science. He had also won several awards such as the Dr. Biren Roy Space Science and Design Award, the ASI award and the AGNI award.

Mr. Perumal is a pioneer in the development and operationalisation of geo-synchronous launch vehicle. He had joined the VSSC in 1970 after a stint at the HAL limited. An expert in critical aerospace structure assemblies, he had played a pivotal role in the development of technologies for launch vehicles. He had held positions such as the project director of PSLV and GSLV projects, before becoming the associate director of the VSSC.

The Government of India honoured him with Padma Bhushan last year. He had also won several awards, such as the ASI award for rocket-related technologies and the HK Firodia memorial award.

Recommended for you