Bill on Central status to 3 Sanskrit deemed universities passed

Govt. promoting Sanskrit at the expense of 5 other classical languages, says Oppn.

A Bill to grant the status of Central universities to three deemed Sanskrit universities was passed by the Rajya Sabha on Monday. Several Opposition MPs raised concern that the other five classical Indian languages are being neglected.

The Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2020, was passed by the Lok Sabha in December 2019, it’s title was amended in the Rajya Sabha to change the year. The amended Bill will now be sent back to the Lok Sabha. It gives Central status to the Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan and Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth in Delhi and the Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth in Tirupati.

Recommended for you