Medals for 19 CBI officers

New Delhi: Nineteen Central Bureau of Investigation officials have been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services and Police Medal for Meritorious Services this year.

Among the awardees for the President’s Medal is Joint Director (Policy) Alok Kumar Pateria, who as Joint Director (North) handled sensitive cases like the disproportionate asset case against Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati. Also in the list are: Deputy Inspector-General (Anti-Corruption Bureau) Mahesh Kumar Aggarwal (handled the Moga sex scandal case) and IPS officers Neeraja Gotru, currently Deputy Inspector-General (Multi-Disciplinary Monitoring Agency), and Anurag, Deputy Inspector-General (Special Task Force).

While the President’s Medal for Distinguished Services has been awarded to four officials, 15 others have been given the Police Medals. — PTI

Recommended for you