Kerala south zone venue for Congress celebrations

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI:The All-India Congress Committee on Wednesday decided on Kerala as the south zone venue for celebrating 125 years of the party's existence.

Thrissur, Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram are in the race. Kerala has been chosen for the October celebrations in view of its proximity to Tamil Nadu, as the Assembly elections will be held in both States early next year.

This event would give the Congress a chance to mobilise cadres ahead of the elections.

PM may attend

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and the Congress president Sonia Gandhi are expected to participate in the functions that would include a public rally also.

The entire country has been divided into five zones, in each of which large- scale functions would be held.

Kerala has been chosen for the south zone that includes Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Puducherry.

Rajasthan will host the function for the west zone. West Bengal is the likely choice for east zone as the State is also readying for the Assembly elections.

Punjab will cover the northern zone, while Assam is the tentative host for the celebrations in the northeast. The participants in the 125-year celebrations will include Pradesh Congress Committee presidents of the zonal States, CLP leaders, general secretaries of AICC in-charge of these States, PCC office-bearers, AICC members, MPs, MLAs and MLCs.