JD (S), JD (U) expel their rebel MPs

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Janata Dal (Secular) headed by the former Prime Minister, H.D. Deve Gowda, on Thursday announced the expulsion of its Member of Parliament, M. Shivanna, for defying the party whip and voting in favour of the United Progressive Alliance government in the vote of confidence in Parliament on Tuesday.

The party spokesperson, Danish Kunwar Ali, said Parliamentary Party President, M.P. Veerendra Kumar, has been authorised to approach the Speaker for disqualifying Mr. Shivanna as Member of Parliament. He is from Chamarajnagar constituency in Karnataka.

Janata Dal (United), headed by former Union Minister, Sharad Yadav, also announced the expulsion of its two MPs — Ram Swarop Prasad from Nalanda, Bihar, and P.P. Koya from Lakshadweep, who had defied the party diktat to vote against the government. Mr. Prasad had voted in favour of the government, while Mr. Koya abstained. The decision to expel them was taken at an emergent meeting of the national office-bearers of the party here.

Recommended for you