BSP Rajya Sabha MP disqualified

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Bahujan Samaj Party’s Rajya Sabha MP Isam Singh has been disqualified by House Chairman Hamid Ansari. Mr. Ansari issued the order dated July 4, after the privileges committee of the House sent him a report on May 22.

Mr. Singh attracted disqualification under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution after he gave up membership of the BSP on whose ticket he was elected.

He floated Bahujan Kranti Party even before he could be formally declared unattached.

He was expelled by the BSP for anti-party activities on September 3, 2006.

After receiving the report, Mr. Ansari gave two personal hearings to Mr. Singh. On April 4 last year, another Rajya Sabha member Veer Singh complained to the then Chairman seeking Mr. Singh’s disqualification.

Cases of two Lok Sabha members are also pending with the privileges committee of the House.

Samajwadi Party member Beni Prasad Verma is alleged to have voluntarily relinquished membership of that party, and Congress MP Kuldeep Bishnoi, son of the former Haryana Chief Minister, Bhajan Lal, has allegedly joined the new party floated by his father.

Complaints seeking their disqualification are pending before the Speaker’s office, which is yet to receive recommendations of the privileges committee.

Recommended for you