BJP finalises candidates for 16 Lok Sabha seats

Special Correspondent

12 for U.P seats, 3 from Kerala, one from Daman & Diu

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Central Election Committee here on Wednesday finalised a list of 16 party candidates — 12 for seats from Uttar Pradesh, 3 from Kerala, and one from Daman and Diu.

It was also learnt that discussions took place informally on getting party leader Sushma Swaraj to contest from Bhopal. This has not yet been finalised by the party’s Central Election Committee. Ms. Swaraj had earlier said that she would not contest the election as the party had asked her to campaign throughout the country.

The seats from U.P. declared on Wednesday are: Hukum Singh Gurjar (Kairana); Sarvesh Singh (Muradabad); Aridaman Singh (Fatehpur Sikri); Raghuvar Dayal Verma (Firozabad); Trapti Shakya (Mainpuri); Krishna Raj (Shahjahanpur); Ajay Mishra Teni (Khiri); Anil Bhargav (Mishrikh-SC); Ranjan Choudhary (Mohanlal Ganj-SC); Mithilesh Aggarwal (Farukhabad); Subrat Pathak (Kannauj); and Goutam Choudhary (Koshambi-SC).

On November 11, the BJP had declared 11 candidates for U.P. constituencies. However, only 10 candidates remain as Kalyan Singh who was finalised for the Etah seat has since resigned from the party.

The big names finalised for U.P. then included Rajnath Singh from Ghaziabad and Murli Manohar Joshi from Varanasi. Maneka Gandhi was also finalised to contest from Anwla while her son Varun Gandhi was decided as the party candidate from Pilibhit, the seat won by his mother in 2004.

On Wednesday, the BJP also finalised three seats from Kerala: K.V. Sabu for the Chalakuddi seat; P.M. Velayudhan for Mavelikkara-SC and Thottakkad Sasi for the Attingal constituency. Lalubhai Babubhai Patel was named the party candidate for the seat in Daman & Diu.

Changes likely

Some changes are likely in the names of candidates declared earlier. Although Navjot Singh Siddhu, the sitting MP from Amritsar was once again finalised for that seat, there is speculation in the BJP office that he may not contest from there.

Recommended for you