Process on to appoint new KERC Chairman

BANGALORE, OCT. 11. With just over a month left for Philipose Mathai's five-year term as Chairman of the Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission (KERC) to end, the process of selecting a new chairman has already begun.

Last week, the Government set up a committee to select the next KERC chairman. The committee headed by the former judge of the Karnataka High Court, A.J. Sadashiva, will also have the Chairman of the Central Electricity Authority, H.L. Bajaj, and the State Chief Secretary, K.K. Misra, as members.

Mr. Mathai's term ends on November 16 this year. Under the terms and conditions laid out in the Karnataka Electricity Reforms Act, 1999, if a person appointed as KERC Member or Chairman, holds any office in the State or Central Government or a Public Sector Undertaking, he should take voluntary retirement from that post. That was what Mr. Mathai did when he was appointed KERC Chairman five years ago, because he was serving as Coffee Board Chairman then.

Recommended for you