New APCC Executive constituted

HYDERABAD, AUG. 30. The Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) team of office- bearers and executive members, announced after an elaborate exercise on Thursday, bears the stamp of authority of the PCC(I) chief, Mr. M. Satyanarayana Rao. Mr. Rao and the leader of the Congress(I) Legislature Party (CLP), Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who are sailing together in the State Congress, succeeded in packing the executive with their followers.

Though an attempt was made to accommodate the interests of different groups in the new PCC set-up, the omission of Mr. Kamatham Ram Reddy, former Minister and close confidant of former Chief Minister Kotla Vijayabhaskara Reddy, from the list was glaring. Mr. Reddy, who was one of the vice-presidents on the earlier committee, was, of late, very critical of the style of functioning of the PCC president.

Another senior leader and former Chief Minister, Mr. N. Janardhan Reddy, was kept in good humour by the party leadership with a fair representation to his associates in the new team. His wife, N. Rajyalaxmi, MLA, was picked up as one of the vice-presidents.

The appointment of Mr. P. Sudhir Kumar, who is relatively young, as vice-president, came in as a surprise. He is the son of former Union Minister, Mr. P. Shiv Shankar. Mr. Mallu Ravi, former MP, who belongs to the Kotla group, was accommodated as one of the general secretaries. Mr. Kumar Rao, follower of the AICC secretary, Mr. V. Hanumantha Rao, was one of the aspirants for the post of general secretary but his name does not figure in the list.

Mr. D. Vittal Rao, who worked as a joint secretary earlier, was picked up as treasurer. The PCC(I) president is entitled to appoint secretaries under the provisions of the party constitution.

There are nine vice-presidents, 10 general secretaries, a treasurer and 36 executive committee members in the 56-member team. Several senior leaders including former CLP leader, Mr. P. Janardhan Reddy, Mr. Dronamraju Satyanarayana, former CWC member, Mrs. Laxmidevi, have been accommodated in the executive committee with a view to drawing upon their experience to strengthen the party, party sources explained.

The following is the list:

Vice-presidents : Messrs. N. Yellaiah, Dasari Narayana Rao, Pinnamaneni Koteswara Rao, R. Chenga Reddy, Gade Venkat Reddy, Kalpana Devi, Shabbir Ali, N. Rajyalaxmi and P. Sudhir Kumar.

General secretaries : Messrs. D. L. Ravindra Reddy, Mallu Ravi, Galla Aruna, MLA, Dharmana Prasada Rao, MLA, Kanna Lakshminarayana, MLA, Bomma Venkateswarlu, MLA, K. R. Amos, P. Sudhakar Reddy, N. Indrasena Reddy and Ratna Bai. Treasurer : Mr. D. Vittal Rao.

Executive Committee : Messrs. P.Janardhan Reddy, Dronamraju Satyanarayana, N. Raghuveera Reddy, MLA, M. Laxmidevi, Magunta Srinivas Reddy, Kavuri Sambasiva Rao, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, D. S. Redya Naik, MLA, B. Veda Vyas, Mohd. Jani, Gali Muddukrishnama Naidu, Mr. Farooq Hussain, D. K. Aruna, M.K.Khan, Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy, A. Chakrapani, K. Satyanarayana Raju, Pitla Krishna, A. Indrakaran Reddy, Maria Das, B. Sammaiah, Mutha Gopalakrishna, K. Jana Reddy, MLA, Panabaka Laxmi, Dasari Sarojini Devi, D. V. Satyanarayana Rao, Jaleel Khan, MLA, P.Sambasiva Raju, MLA, Narsing Rao, G. Gaddenna, MLA, Komireddy Jyothi, M. V. Prabhavathamma, B. Saraiah, MLA, Basava Punnaiah, P. Gopinath.

Special invitees are: Messrs. R. Narappa Reddy, K. S. R. Murthy, J. C. Diwakar Reddy, MLA, M. Sridhan Reddy, M. Nanik Rao, Kanumuri Bapiraju, Syed Rehmat Ali, J. D. Seelam, Kommineni Seshagiri Rao.