Krishna's supporters in Mumbai

BANGALORE, DEC. 6. The new Governor of Maharashtra, S.M. Krishna, had several of his supporters, admirers and followers to cheer him when he assumed office in Mumbai this morning.

According to Congress sources, at least 20 Congress MLAs are in Mumbai.

Besides the Chief Minister, N. Dharam Singh, the Water Resources Minister, M. Mallikarjun Kharge, the Municipal Administration Minister, S.R. Morey, and the Agricultural Marketing Minister, Prakash Hukkeri, were present at the swearing in ceremony.

A number of the legislators who attended the ceremony are stated to be from Belgaum district.

The legislators who have left for Mumbai include former Ministers D.K. Shivakumar, R.V. Deshpande and Ramalinga Reddy, R.V. Devaraj, MLC, Prasanna Kumar, Prabhakar Kore and Prakash Rathod. The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) leaders include P.M. Ashok and Kenche Gowda. However, the KPCC President, B. Janardhana Poojary, was in Delhi in connection with the Parliament session. Also present at the swearing in ceremony were All-India Congress Committee leader Margaret Alva, and former Chairman of the Legislative Council B.L. Shankar.

Recommended for you