'Kaho Na Pyar Hai' bags 7 awards

NEW YORK, APRIL 29. The Hindi movie, Kaho Na Pyar Hai, has proved to be the top hit with non-resident Indians here, grabbing seven Z-gold Bollywood awards, including those for the best film, best actor and best director. Mr. Hrithik Roshan bagged two awards for the best actor and the best male debutant for the film, while his father, Mr. Rakesh Roshan, was chosen the best director. The movie was also adjudged the best film while Mr. Rajesh Roshan of the family shared the limelight when he was chosen the best music director for the same film. And the famous comedian of yesteryear, Mahmood, presented the award of best male singer to his son, Mr. Lucky Ali, for his song Ek pal ka jeena in Kaho Na...

The awards, presented at a gala ceremony on Friday night where leading artistes from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and the U.S. gave dazzling performances, were based on an opinion poll conducted among the NRIs over several months.

Ms. Karishma Kapoor won the best actress award for her role in Fiza. Ms. Mahima Choudhri won two awards - for the best supporting role and the best sensational female role in Dhadkan. The critics' award for best male role went to Mr. Amitabh Bachchan for his performance in Mohabbatein. Ms. Tabu's performance in Astitva won her the critics' award for the best female role. Mr. Anupam Kher won the real hero lifetime award while the Pride of India award was bagged by the producer, Mr. Ashok Amritraj. The evergreen millennium award was given to Mr. Dev Anand.

A special award - Bollywood humanitarian - went to the Hollywood actor, Mr. Steven Segeal. Mr. Akshay Kumar won the best supporting actor award for his role in Hera Pheri.

The award for sensational male role went to Mr. Anil Kapoor for Pukar.

Mr. Paresh Rawal claimed the award for the best comedian in Hera Pheri. Mr. Gulshan Grover was adjudged the best villain for his role in Aaghaz.

The best female debutant award was given to Ms. Kareena Kapoor for Refugee.

Ms. Alka Yagnik was adjudged the best female singer for Kaho Na... and Mr. Javed Akhtar won the award for best lyrics for Panchi Nadiya.. in Refugee. Mr. Aditya Chopra won the awards for best story and best screenplay for Mohabbetein.


Recommended for you