Entry only to invitees at film awards function

The Chief Minister will present the awards in Bangalore tomorrow

Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: The Government has learnt a lesson from the Rajkumar felicitation programme held here recently and decided to restrict entry to the State Kannada film awards presentation function to invitees. At the function, which will be held at Ambedkar Bhavan on Miller's Road here on Saturday, awards will be presented for films produced in 2003-04.

Addressing presspersons here on Thursday, the Minister for Information and Publicity, B. Shivaram, said the Chief Minister, N. Dharam Singh, will present the awards. The Minister for Primary and Secondary Education, R. Ramalinga Reddy, will release a souvenir. The President of Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce, H.D. Gangaraju, will be the chief guest.

In the light of the difficulties faced by members of the public during the Rajkumar felicitation programme held on the Palace Grounds here on July

9, the Minister said only invitees will be allowed at the State film awards function. Ambedkar Bhavan has a seating capacity of 1,286.

"Chiguridha Kanasu," produced by Parvathamma Rajkumar and directed by Nagabharana, has been adjudged the "First Best Film" for 2003-04 by the State Film Awards Committee.

The film has brought awards for Shiva Rajkumar (best actor); Jayanth Kaikini (best dialogue) and V. Manohar (best music director).

"Chiguridha Kanasu" has won a gold medal and a cash award of Rs. 1 lakh. The director will be presented a gold medal and a cash award of Rs. 20,000.

The silver medal (for the "Second Best Film award") goes to "Shanti," produced by Ramesh Yadav and directed by Baragur Ramachandrappa. The producer gets a cash prize of Rs. 75,000, and director Rs. 15,000. The "Third Best Film" award" is for "Chandra Chakori," produced by Anita Kumaraswamy and directed by S. Narayan. The producer gets a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and the director Rs. 10,000.

Shiva Rajkumar gets the M.V.Subbaiah Naidu award for his role in "Chiguridha Kanasu." Radhika has been selected for the best actress award for her role in "Tayee Illade Tabbali." The "best character artiste" awards for men and women artistes go to Rangayana Raghu and Umashri for their roles in "Mani."

The committee has recommended K. Janakiram for the Dr. Rajkumar Award, which carries a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh. The Puttana Kanagal Award goes to T. Pattabhirama Reddy (Rs. 1 lakh cash prize), and the Lifetime Achievement Award (Rs. 50,000) to Kuppuswamy Naidu of Chamundeshwari Studios.

Asked about release of subsidy for Kannada films, Mr. Shivaram said the Government will respond to issues raised by the Kannada film industry.

A meeting will be held soon to take a decision on subsidy, he added.

Recommended for you