Calendar announced for panchayat elections

Special Correspondent

MANGALORE: The calendar for the elections to the Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat and the five taluk panchayats in the district has been issued. As many as 8,93,914 voters will exercise their franchise on December 19 when the district will go to the polls.

There are 4,51,044 women against 4,42,870 men in the five taluks of the district. Mangalore taluk with 1,55,433 votes has the highest number of voters (1,22,926 men and 1,32,507 women) followed by Bantwal with 2,35,058 votes (1,17,033 men and 1,18,025 women), Belthangady with 1,64,478 votes (82,898 men and 81,580 women) Puttur with 1,52,069 votes (75,937 men and 76,132 women) and Sullia with 86,876 votes (44,076 men and 42,800 women).

Mangalore also has the largest number of zilla panchayat constituencies (10), while there are nine constituencies in Bantwal taluk. In Belthangady, there are six constituencies, six constituencies in Puttur and four constituencies in Sullia.

According to Deputy Commissioner H.V. Parshwanath, nominations will be accepted from November 23 to 30. They will be scrutinised on December 1, and the last date to withdraw the nominations will be December 3. The counting of results will be taken up on December 27, and the results will be announced the same day.

Addressing a press conference here on Monday, Dr. Parshwanath said arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful polling, especially in sensitive and hyper-sensitive booths. Security has been tightened in areas where naxalite activity has been reported, he added.

Superintendent of Police Dayananda said 1,054 booths will be set up in the district of which 180 will be hyper-sensitive and 442 sensitive.

Since voters have to caste the votes for the taluk panchayat as well as zilla panchayat, they should carry their photo identity cards or any of the 19 specified identity or address proof documents, including a ration card, phone bill or electric bill, he added.