Anupama Award presented to Sunandamma

BANGALORE, MAY 16. The Karnataka Lekhakiyara Sangha presented its Anupama Award to the noted Kannada writer, T. Sunandamma, here on Sunday.

The annual award, instituted after the renowned progressive woman writer in Kannada, late Anupama Niranjana, comprises a cash prize, a memento, and a citation.

The occasion also marked the presentation of awards instituted after popular women writers H.V. Savitramma, Gita Desai, and Prema Bhat.

These were presented to Anujaya S. Kumtakar, T.C. Poornima, and Anupama Kolluru, respectively.

The Gudibande Poornima awards for poets went to Rashmi M. Hegde (Sirsi), Rosy Shailesh (Bangalore), Geeta D.C. (Bangalore), and K.V. Netravati (Hampi). The award was posthumously presented to Vibha Tirakpadi.Responding to the felicitation, Ms. Sunandamma said that works of first-generation women writers such as Anupama Niranjan and M.K. Indira should be reprinted. "These works are not available now. They should be reprinted for the benefit of the younger generation," she said.

The sangha president, Usha P. Rai, welcomed the gathering.

Recommended for you