National Commission for Backward Sections constituted

NEW DELHI, MARCH 17. The Centre has constituted a National Commission for the Socially and the Economically Backward Sections among the Religious and Linguistic Minorities with the former Chief Justice, Ranganath Misra, as its chairperson. The former chairperson of the National Minorities Commission, Tahir Mahmood, has been appointed as its member.

The Commission would suggest criteria for the identification of the socially and economically backward sections among religious and linguistic minorities and recommend measures for the their welfare , including reservation in education and government employment, an official statement said here today. It would also suggest the necessary constitutional, legal and administrative modalities, as required for the implementation of its recommendations and present a report of its deliberations.

The four-member Commission would also include Anil Wilson, Principal of St. Stephen's College and Mohinder Singh, director, National Institute of Punjab Studies, as its members.

Recommended for you