dated November 30, 1954: Indian team for Pak. tour

The Maharajkumar of Vizianagaram, President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, on November 29 announced the names of ten players of the Indian team which will tour Pakistan from December 28. The names of six other players will be announced on December 12 after the festival match at Nagpur which begins on December 11. The ten players named are: V. Mankad (captain), P.R. Umrigar, Ghulam Ahmad, G.S. Ramchand, P. Roy, M.K. Mantri, C.V. Gadkari, S.P. Gupte, N.S. Tamhane and P.H. Punjabi. Those chosen now are generally expected to be in the Test team. Eight of the ten have represented India in Test cricket. Roy and Punjabi have proved to be a dependable and steady opening pair.

Recommended for you