Winning toons

Of the 230,000 entries received for Cartoon Network's "Next Big Toon", Abhishek Datta from Kolkata, P.P. Sai Ravi from Secunderabad and three winners from Mumbai — Deepa V. Matprati, Govinda and Rohit Salian — emerged as the five finalists. Asked to create their own cartoon character, the five original cartoons created by these kids are Madloo, Terminite, Leo — A Magic Pencil, Compman and Bulby, respectively. The panel of judges consisting of Ashutosh Gowariker, Piyush Pandey, Ram Mohan and Cartoon Network representatives Ian Diamond and Anshuman Misra. The five finalists will win an HP Pavilion computer each, a special plaque recognising each of the five finalists as creative toon geniuses and exclusive Network goodies. The best entry from these five will be converted into an animated shot and have the honour of being showcased on Cartoon Network in December 2003!

Recommended for you