New TTD executive officer

APVN Sharma was unanimously elected as president of Sri Tyagaraja Festival Committee at a meeting held in Tirupati recently. Rangaswami Iyengar and Srinivasan of Chennai felicitated him for his appointment as the Executive Officer of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams.

M. Krishnaswami, chairman, Sri Tyagaraja Trust, moved a resolution of condolence on the demise of M. S. Subbulakshmi and referred to her outstanding contributions towards the cause of music in general and popularising Annamacharya compositions in particular. It was mentioned that she had given away all the royalties to the TTD. All those present observed a minute's silence in the memory of MS.

Sharma, president of the festival committee, announced that the 63rd annual festival of music and dance would be held at Tirupati for 10 days from July 25.

Recommended for you