Diamond Jubilee celebrations

THE DIAMOND jubilee celebrations of Sri Annaswamy Iyengar Vidwat Sadhas, Mannargudi, will be held from April 6 to 8.

The Sadhas, which began in 1944 with the blessings of the Kanchi Paramacharya, Chandrasekarendra Saraswati and patronised by the heads of Sri Vanamamalai Mutt, Sri Ahobila Mutt, Srimad Andavan Ashramams, Sri Sringeri Mutt and Sri Uthradhi Mutt, is an annual congregation of scholars for three days in March/April every year during the annual Brahmotsavam of Sri Rajagopalaswami temple.

The annual vidwat sadhas is a part of the Yajur Veda Patasala, established by late Sri Annaswamy Iyengar of Mannargudi. In fact, the orginal proposal was to set up a Sastra Patasala, in addition to the existing Veda Patasala in 1944, in memory of Annaswamy Iyengar by his son Srinivasa Iyengar, who was the then managing trustee of the Patasala. But it was the Paramacharya who suggested an annual congregation of scholars to revive the ancient custom. Thus the annual sadhas came into being. In the current year, "Pancharatra Agama" will be included in the sadas besides, Sri Bhashyam, Visishtadwaitha, Advaitha and Dwaitha philosophy, Sri Krishna Yajur Veda and Divya Prabhandam.

Another feature of the current year's celebration will be the release of Sri Parasharya Samhitha, which deals with the temple rites and rituals.

Some of the eminent scholars who were actively associated with the growth of the Vidwat Sadhas are: U. Ve. Kundalam Rangachariar, Agnihothram Ramanuja Thathachariar, Veeravalli Ganapadi Srinivasa Desikachariar, Madurantakam Veeraragavachariar, Navalpakkam N. S. Ramanuja Thathachariar, Velukkudi Varadachariar, Brahmasri Polagam Sundara Sastrigal, Veppathur Subramanya Sastrigal, Madhwa Sri Sethumadhavachar, and Guttal Hayagreevachar.


Recommended for you