Today's Paper

Six artists get Lalithakala award

Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: The Karnataka Lalithakala Academy has selected six artists for its annual awards for 2004 and 2005 for their contribution, including those in the fields of literature on fine arts and through the media. Each award carries a cash component of Rs. 10,000 and a citation. Academy president M.B. Basavaraju announced the list of award-winners, which includes a woman artiste. The award-winners are: (for 2004) K.S. Sarode (Gulbarga), S.C. Patil (Badami, Bagalkot District) and N. Marishyamachar (Bangalore); For 2005: Dayananda Shetty (Kumta, Uttara Kannada), P.S. Kumar (Bangalore) and Susheela Parvathayya (Tumkur).

Recommended for you