Today's Paper

`Naayi Neralu' best film; Shivrajkumar best actor

Staff Reporter

Dr. Rajkumar Award for Jayanthi, Pavithra best actor (female)

BANGALORE: Among the 35 films in the fray, the noted film-maker Girish Kasaravalli's "Naayi Neralu," Rathnaja's "Nenapirali" and Nagathihalli Chandrashekhar's "Amritha Dhaare" have bagged the State honours for 2005-06 as first three best films respectively.

A nine-member film awards selection committee, headed by T. N. Sitaram of Mayamriga and Mukta television serials fame, has selected the veteran film artiste Jayanthi and director and actor V. Ravichandran for the prestigious Dr. Rajkumar and Puttanna Kanagal awards respectively. The noted photographer S. Ramachandra has been selected for the lifetime achievement award.

While recommending Pavithra Lokesh (Naayi Neralu) and Shivrajkumar (Jogi) for best actor (female) and best actor (male) awards, the committee has surprised the film industry by selecting the noted comedian-hero Jaggesh as the best supporting actor for his unorthodox performance in "Mata."

Noted theatre artiste Arundhati Nag has bagged the best supporting actor (female) award for her scintillating performance in Jogi as a village woman lost in the city crowd searching for her son.

The committee has honoured writer Baragur Ramachandrappa's "Thaayi," based on Maxim Gorky's novel, Mother, for its social impact in the context of globalisation. It has selected P. Sheshadri's "Thutturi" as the best children's film.

Two films, Dr. B. R. Ambedkar's Life Story and Care of Footpath, have won special jury awards.

Announcing the awards, Mr. Sitaram told presspersons here on Tuesday that the committee viewed all the 35 films in accordance with the norms set by the Government. As the committee comprised like-minded members it had made itself clear not to entertain films with sex and violence. It had decided to judge the quality of films under the notion of good cinema had not categorised them as art and commercial cinemas. The committee had suggested to the Government that the cash prize for the top three films be enhanced to Rs. three lakhs, Rs. two lakhs and Rs. one lakh respectively.

Secretary to the Government, Kannada and Culture, Information and Publicity and Tourism I.M. Vittalmurthy said the Government would organise the screening of all award winning films at taluk and districts before presenting the awards. The awards would be presented within two months and the venue of the presentation ceremony would be selected shortly.

Details of the awards: Best supporting actress- Arundahti Nag (Jogi), best story- C. N. Mukta (Ms. California), best screen play- Prem (Jogi), best dialogues - Sudarshan and Lakshmipathi Kolar (Mukha Mukhi), best photographer-H. M. Ramachandra (Nenapirali), best music director- Hamsalekha (Nenapirali), best sound technician- Jhonson (Amrithadaare), best art director -Ismail and Sivakumar (Aham Pemasmi), best editor- S. Manohar (Akash), best child artiste- Kiran (Care of Footpath), best lyricist- Baragur Ramachandrappa (Thyaayi), best playback singers C. Ashwath (Shubham) and Chaitra (Amrithadhaare).

Best film in regional dialect: Kadala Mage (Tulu).

Recommended for you