Today's Paper

‘Magadheera' bags nine Nandi awards

Dasari Narayana Rao

Dasari Narayana Rao  

Dasari Narayana Rao, Teerdha and Rajamouli corner glory

Last year's superhit ‘Magadheera' bagged nine Nandi awards for 2009, including the best popular feature film, best director for S.S. Rajamouli and a special jury award for its lead star Ramcharan Tej. The jury sprang a surprise by selecting former Union Minister Dasari Narayana Rao as best lead actor in his film ‘Mestry'.

The film ‘Mestry' was a spoof on a political party and one that had several dialogues directly aimed at a political leader.

A volley of questions, fired at the jury led by its Chairman P. Chandrasekhara Reddy at a press conference to announce the awards on Thursday, went unanswered. Mr. Reddy said the jury had done its work.

‘Magadheera' also got awards for Best Editor (Kotagiri Venkateswara Rao), Art Director R. Ravinder, Choreographer Sri Sivashankar, audiographer G. Radhakrishna, costume designer Rama Rajamouli and special effects by R.C. Kamal Kannan.

A bagful of awards were also received by ‘Sontha Oooru' - best film, copper Nandi and commendation to the producer-director P. Sunil Kumar Reddy, hero Raja and heroine Teerdha who also got a silver Nandi for the best lead actress.

The second best feature film was ‘Banam', the Vedika-Nara Rohit-starrer, produced by Seshu Priyanka Chelasani and directed by Dantaluri Chaitanya while the third best film was ‘Kalavaramaye Madilo' directed by Satheesh Kasetty. The producer of this film, Mohan Vadlapatla, got a bronze Nandi, while Satheesh, hero Kamal Kamaraju and heroine Swathi got copper Nandi awards.

Managing Director of the A.P. State Film, Television and Theatre Development Corporation, C. Parthasarathy said that in tune with the government's policy, the awards would be given away the very next year after the particular year for which they were announced.

Recommended for you