Today's Paper

Kalaimamani Awards for 123 persons announced



Special Correspondent

Sarada Hoffman,Shobana Ramesh among awardees

CHENNAI: Close on the heels of the announcement of film awards, the State Government on Tuesday announced the `Kalaimamani' Awards for 2004 and 2005.

The Tamil Nadu Iyal Isai Nataka Manram will confer the State awards to 123 artists at a function in Chennai on February 25.

Among the awardees are Bharatanatyam exponents Sarada Hoffman, Shobana Ramesh and Leela Samson and film personalities Vikram, Sneha, Surya, Jyotika and Anuradha Sriram.

Senior artists

The Government has also announced a list of senior Kalaimamani artistes chosen for the cash award. A total of 19 artists will be posthumously honoured by unveiling their portraits at the function, according to an official release.

For 2004, four artists and Tamil scholars have been selected for the award in the `iyal' (literature) section. Twenty-six musicians and 10 Bharatanatyam exponents are among those chosen for the award. Four stage artists including `Crazy' R. Mohan, ten film personalities including Vikram, Sneha, C.R. Saraswathi and P. Vasu are also to be conferred with the award. Five ballad and four folk artists have been chosen for the honour. A cash award of Rs.15,000 each will be given to three indigent artists. The portraits of 12 personalities connected with the world of arts including `Kalki' Krishnamurthy, Semmangudi Srinivasa Aiyer, V.K. Ramasamy and B. Nagi Reddy will be unveiled.

For 2005, 56 artists including Bhartanatyam exponent Leela Samson, stage artist Bombay Gnanam, film personalities Surya, Jyotika, Vadivelu, Hariharan and Anuradha Sriram have been chosen for the `Kalaimamani' Award. Veteran stage actor P.S. Seethalakshmi is among the three indigent veteran artists to receive the cash award of Rs.15,000. The portraits of Gemini Ganesan, P. Banumathi, Jikki and four others will be unveiled at the function.

Recommended for you