Today's Paper

EC not to recognise 3 new M.P. districts

BHOPAL Oct. 22. The Election Commission said today that it would not recognise the three newly-created districts — Burhanpur, Anuppur and Ashoknagar — in Madhya Pradesh for purposes of the coming Assembly elections. These have been carved out of Khandwa, Shahdol and Guna districts.

Addressing a press conference here, the Election Commissioners, T.S. Krishnamurthy and B.B. Tandon, who arrived here on Tuesday to review the poll preparedness, said Madhya Pradesh had 3.77 crore voters of which 1.97 crore were men and 1.80 crore women.

Mr. Krishnamurthy said the major concern of the representatives of the political parties who met them centred on two major aspects — violation of the model code of conduct and irregularities in Rewa district.

Special mention was made of the electoral rolls for the Mangawan constituency in Rewa district (represented by the Assembly Speaker, Shrinivas Tiwari), the issue of missing holograms in the photo identity cards in Rewa and the presence of Assembly officials in political meetings in the constituency. These had been brought to the notice of the Chief Secretary and the Director-General of Police.

Mr. Krishnamurthy said the electoral rolls in Mangawan would have to be revised and the Commission had recommended the transfer of certain officers.

Recommended for you