Today's Paper

Governor clears 3-capital and CRDA repeal Bills

Govt. can now give a shape to its proposal to make Vizag the seatof power

In a major turning point in the history of Andhra Pradesh, Governor Biswa Bhusan Harichandan on Friday gave his assent to the AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions and AP Capital Region Development Authority Repeal Bills - 2020.

The clearance of the decentralisation Bill facilitates the development of Amaravati, Kurnool and Visakhapatnam as the legislative, judicial and executive capitals respectively. The repeal of the CRDA paves the way for the formation of the Amaravati Metropolitan Region Development Authority.

The government is free now to give the ‘three capitals’ proposal a tangible shape while a batch of petitions that challenged the two Bills is pending adjudication by the HC. As per the Decentralisation Bill, Visakhapatnam will have the Raj Bhavan, the Secretariat and offices of the Heads of Departments at Visakhapatnam, and Amaravati will be the seat of the legislature. Regarding the judicial capital, the Bill says: “The seat of all State judicial institutions established under the State legislations, shall, as far as practicable, be located in Kurnool.”

Accordingly, the principal seat of the HC will be located in Kurnool and Benches constituted as per the procedure laid down in the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014. The Bills were considered as ‘deemed to be passed’ as one month has elapsed after their introduction in the Legislative Council for the second time, as per Clause 2 of Article 197 of the Constitution notwithstanding the fact that they were not cleared by the Upper House.

The Bills were subsequently sent on that premise to the Governor, who took his time to scrutinise them in the context of the legal tangle. The Bills were first passed in the Assembly in January, but the TDP had stalled them in the Council by leveraging on its majority in the 58-member House and got them referred to a Select Committee. The Opposition alleged that the Select Committee was not formed but the Bills were passed in the Assembly and sent to the Governor.

Recommended for you