Today's Paper

MCI nod for 3 new medical colleges

Three new medical colleges in Andhra Pradesh have been cleared by the Medical Council of India (MCI) to start MBBS courses from the 2016-17 academic year. They come under the jurisdiction NTR University of Health Sciences at Vijayawada.

Gayathri Vidya Parishad Institute of Medical Care and Health Technology at Marikavalasa on the National Highway, Visakhapatnam; Nimra Institute of Medical Sciences, Ibrahimpatnam, Vijayawada; and RVS Institute of Medical Sciences, Chittoor, have received the MCI approval with an intake of 150 seats each.

There are more than 3,000 MBBS seats available in the government and private medical colleges in the State under NTRUHS and the number would go up by 450 with the permission given to the three new colleges, Vice Chancellor of NTRUHS, T. Raviraju, told The Hindu on Thursday. The MCI has granted the permission after satisfying itself with the facilities available at the colleges and it has also told the colleges to comply with norms within three months and provide a bank guarantee of Rs.2 crore.

These conditions should be met before it sends its inspection team in three months, Dr. Raviraju said. If a college fails to comply with the norms, it would not receive MCI recognition for the next two years.

Recommended for you