Today's Paper

Decks cleared for MCD elections

Staff Reporter

L-G notifying 272 newly created wards of the civic body

NEW DELHI: The decks have been cleared for holding elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, with the Lieutenant-Governor on Saturday notifying the 272 newly created wards of the civic body. Of these, 46 will be reserved for Scheduled Castes and 92 for women, including 16 seats from the Scheduled Castes category.

Under the Constitution, the new MCD has to be constituted by April 10 this year. With the delimitation of wards, Delhi now will be at par with some of the major metropolitan cities in the country with a representative in the civic body for every 50,000 citizens. Earlier, with just 134 wards, this figure had crossed the 1-lakh mark, necessitating a further increase in the number of wards to ensure better representation of the people in the House.

However, the exercise of sub-division of wards and new categorisation has left many senior local politicians in the lurch. Prominent among them is former Deputy Mayor and veteran Congress Councillor Ramesh Datta, whose Minto Road constituency is now reserved for women.


As per the notification, which will be published in Part IV of the Delhi Gazette Extraordinary, the total number of MCD seats has been determined under the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957, as amended by the DMC (Amendment) Act, 1993, and the DMC Amendment Act, 2007.

Reservation has been provided under sub-section (7) of Section 3 of the DMC Amendment Act, 2007.

Under it, seats would be reserved for women belonging to the Scheduled Castes from among those reserved for this category. Also as per this sub-section the reservation for women could not be less than one-third of the total number of seats reserved for the Scheduled Castes.

As such, while 46 seats have been reserved for the Scheduled Castes, 16 of them have been set aside for women.

Among the 226 seats left for the general category, a third -- 76 seats -- have been reserved for women, taking the total number of seats which women alone will be able to contest to 92.

The 16 seats reserved for Scheduled Caste women are Pusa, Raghubir Nagar, Pooth Kalan, Sultanpuri East, Mangolpuri East, Nimri Colony, Idgah Road, Model Basti, Baljit Nagar, Tigri, Ambedkar Nagar, Dallopura, Kalyanpuri, Nand Nagri, Durga Puri and Gokalpur.

The remaining seats reserved for the Scheduled Castes category are Bhalswa Jahangirpur, Malka Ganj, Jahangirpuri-I, Sahibabad Daulatpur, Nangloi Jat West, Kirari Suleman Nagar, Mangolpuri North, Peeragarhi, Mangolpuri West, Shakurpur, Sawan Park, Sangam Park, Inder Lok Colony, Majnu Ka Tilla, Kucha Pandit, Ram Nagar, Dev Nagar, East Patel Nagar, Madipur, Inderpuri, Bhogal, Vasant Kunj, Dakshinpuri Extension, Madangir, Harkesh Nagar, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Vishwash Nagar, Sunder Nagri and Harsh Vihar.